The Chesterquist

G. K. Chesterton is a man for the ages and Dale Ahlquist is a man for bringing him to the ages. K. V. Turley finds out more..

Dale Ahlquist is President of the American Chesterton Society, and publisher of its flagship publication, GILBERT. Dale is also the creator and host of the popular EWTN series The Apostle of Common Sense, and he is the author of  G.K. Chesterton: The Apostle of Common SenseCommon Sense 101: Lessons from G.K. Chesterton, and The Complete Thinker: The Marvelous Mind of G.K. Chesterton. He is popular speaker, having given more than 600 lectures at men’s conferences, diocesan events, and prestigious institutions including Yale, Columbia, Cornell, Notre Dame, Oxford, the Vatican Forum in Rome, and the House of Lords in London.

***

He recently corresponded with CWR about his work as an author.

CWR: How would you describe what you write?

Dale Ahquist: I have the privilege of writing about everything because I write about G.K. Chesterton, who wrote about everything. I’ve written books, television and radio programs, and a pile of journalistic essays and reviews. My goal is to make Chesterton more accessible to today’s audience because he points people to God. However, in addition to my writing about Chesterton, I have written over twenty plays, and they’ve all been given robust performances that have been well received. I will be publishing these soon.

CWR: G.K. Chesterton is such a huge influence on your life and work, in terms of writing is it possible to say where he ends and you begin?

Ahquist: I certainly try to make it seamless. It is a compliment to me, of course, when readers say they underline my words as much as the Chesterton passages I am quoting. But even when I’m not quoting him, I suppose I’m quoting him.

Read the full interview here

This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

