You’re in very good literary company

Over on his blog, author Garrett Robinson provides an elegant solution to a big problem: How to Write Songs in Books if you are not a songwriter.

Rebel Yell is about a band, there’s obviously a lot of music in it. Now when I started writing the book, I thought, “Oh, well, I don’t actually need to WRITE those songs. I can just talk about the bands PLAYING them.”

Yeah, well, if you’ve ever tried to write a book like that, you’ll already know that when I got to the scenes with the music, they totally sucked when I didn’t include the actual songs.

But I’m not a songwriter! And when I tried writing lyrics all on my own…let’s just say the results were less than impressive. It stumped me for a long time. In fact the biggest gap between the first and second drafts of the book was because I was wrestling with this problem. I had no idea what to do.

How did Robinson solve the problem? Read the full post here

This entry was posted in Advice, Blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

