Commit to What Restores You

In our final link of the week, we visit the Writing and Wellness blog for a post on How to Refill the Well. This post is aimed at least partially on writers who are published but certainly has applicability to those who have not yet got that far. We all get tired, after all, and from time to time we certainly all need to refill the well.

P.S. If you don’t have time for the article, scroll down to the tips below. You  might find them useful.

I had the great pleasure of meeting award-winning author Hannah Tinti at the Aspen Summer Words Conference in July.

I heard her speak on the final panel of the week, and then got a chance to have her sign my copy of her book, The Good Thief.

While she was signing, she made conversation with me, and it came up that I was a writer, and had a book releasing soon. I told her my publisher had asked for a marketing plan, and that I was a little nervous about stepping into the world of selling the book, which seemed so foreign to the world of writing it.

Did she have to be involved in marketing as well, I asked?

Most writers, she said—save perhaps the Pulitzer Prize winners—are required to market.

Then she told me something that has stayed with me ever since.

For everything I put out to market the book, she said, I should put something back in.

In other words, replenish the well, and do it frequently.

One of the things she does? Treats herself to a latte after a book signing.

Read the full post here

This entry was posted in Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

