We remember the details of our story, we do not invent them.

How do authors write? There are probably as many ways to do so as there are grains of sand on the beach. In this post, William Landay looked at how Graham Greene wrote. His article begins with this quote by Greene himself,

Over twenty years I have probably averaged five hundred words a day for five days a week. I can produce a novel in a year, and that allows time for revision and the correction of the typescript. I have always been very methodical, and when my quota of work is done I break off, even in the middle of a scene. Every now and then during the morning’s work I count what I have done and mark off the hundreds on my manuscript.

Just 500 words a day! I don’t know about you, but I find that very encouraging. No pressure to bang out as many words as possible.

Read the full blog post here

This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

